The vintage mint dress alteration

Hello there again,

So I think I’m going to march on with the phone blogging! I have so much to share, and am just too damn impatient to wait until l have sorted the computer problem rectified.

So what have I been up to today? Well another alteration, this time a sweet mint vintage floor length dress! I was asked to take the hem up by 15 inches and replace the zip. Again I forgot to take a before photo what a Wally I have learnt my lesson with this and taken a photo of the next alteration already!

So here we are at the prep-ing stage….

20140210-175544.jpg

That was part one…. The seam ripping!

20140210-175646.jpg

I have to say this was a very full skirt, it took near 2hours just to measure, cut & press…. I was glad to get to the stitching stage!

20140210-175914.jpg

I was certainly glad to see the hem finished… At this stage u had to pop out to my local fabric shop. To get the right zip!

20140210-180051.jpg

I got a really good match on the zip (the black cotton and interfacing are for the next alteration)

20140210-180233.jpg

I got to use the zipper foot on my new sewing machine (I must blog about her later) I wish I hadn’t been so scared of zippers for so long! With the right tutorial and the right foot they are soo not that scary!

20140210-180503.jpg

I finished the zipper off with a little hand stitching as I wanted to keep the dress the same as it had been constructed before, it was a hand made number!

20140210-180649.jpg

This is a back view….

20140210-180817.jpg

And a close up of the hem…..

20140210-180914.jpg

And a close up of the zip…. I can’t seem to preview my photos so bear with me on quality! I’m hoping they are ok!

20140210-181100.jpg

So there she is all done up! She will be off back home tomorrow! And I have the next alteration all prep-ed ready for me to work on later.

Well I feel I might be back peeps! Oh how u have missed blogging!

See you soon!

Traci

One thought on “The vintage mint dress alteration

Leave a Reply

